CONCERTS

Presentation venue by venue of all concerts

See the address of all venues

Sun 24.01.16 - CITY CLUB - cine-concert "Maths & Music"

Doors 16:30 / film  17:00 / concert 19:00

Tariff : CHF 25 / CHF 20

The CityClub cinema welcomes N/O/D/E for a cine-concert and a documentary that celebrate the beauty of mathematics, followed by a concert by pianist Malcolm Braff together with Stéphane Galland.

17:00 documentary : " Comment j'ai détesté les Maths" (How I hated Maths) by Olivier Peyon

We could have simply laughed about our hatred of mathematics if it hadn’t been so hugely important in our society. Indeed, Apple, Google and Goldman Sachs all depend on algorithms and mathematical formulas. How come mathematics bears the brunt of our aversion when it actually rules our world?

Exploring the globe with some of the greatest mathematicians, including Cédric Villani (Fields Medal 2010), Comment j’ai détesté les maths explains how mathematics has changed our world, for better… and sometimes for worse.

19:00 concert : Malcom Braff & Stéphane Galland (CH)

In the early 90s in Belgium, drummer Stéphane Galland created Aka Moon – a dynamic band with which he explored complex rhythms some 20 years before they became a ‘thing’ among jazz musicians. He then became one of the genre’s undisputed masters. In the meantime, Malcolm Braff was exploring African and Indian rhythms before developing his own unique rhythmical concept, which he dubbed non-Euclidian rhythms.

Their coming together was explosive: with Lobi at first, a band lead by Stéphane, and now with this duo, the two musicians have invented their own unique polyrhythmic approach. By combining their respective instruments with electronics, they create astonishing soundscapes, through which they roam acrobatically and with dizzying skill.

Wed-thur-fri 27-28-29.01.16 - THEATRE 2.21 - Odéta TV

Tariff : CHF 25 / CHF 15

21:00 / duration : 75 minutes

Composer, pianist and teacher Pierre Audétat cultivates a spellbinding and mellifluous form of art that feeds off refined and unexpected harmonic intervals.

For Odéta TV, he has meticulously selected and ‘borrowed’ short audiovisual samples on YouTube from all sorts of sources – essentially amateur videos – which he cut up, split and transformed, before editing and performing them live with keyboards and samplers. The result is an offbeat audio-video edit where sounds and images clash according to the music being played

Saturday 30.01.16 - EJMA 


Doors 19:00-21:00 / free entrance

19:00 composition for theremin from the HEMU Master class (40 minutes) 

Thereminists : Lydia Kavina (UK) and Thierry Frenkel (FR)

Four students, four news composition for the theremin : 

  • Sinenenelegie par Lukas Briner. Composition for 2 theremins, alto & violin.
  • Cavernes by Romain Luder. Composition for 2 theremins and bass clarinet.
  • Peacefull Turbulences by Micaël Vuataz, Composition for 2 theremins, guitar and saxophone.
  • Sirens by Gaspard Colin. Composition for 2 theremins and cello

20:00 Theremin Orchestra (duration 15 minutes)

At the end of its three-day course, the Theremin Winter Academy will give a collective performance by a Theremin orchestra, featuring the academy’s participants and conducted by Lydia Kavina (UK).

Saturday 30.01.16 - LE ROMANDIE - Play like a machine ! 


Doors  21:00 - 00:04

Tariff : CHF 25 (at the door) / CHF 27 (presale)

22:00 Domi Chansorn (CH) - drums & machines solo

Domi Chansorn is one of the most exciting versatile musicians on the contemporary Swiss scene. Based in Zurich, the talented drummer and multi-instrumentalist is also a new media enthusiast. He will present his new solo project, ‘drums and machines’ at N/O/D/E.

23:00 Blueblut (AUT) - psycho theremin band

Wild and atypical, BlueBlut is a guitar, Theremin and drums trio, whose avant-garde music combines rock and psychedelia. Like chameleons, the three musicians present a myriad of musical colours. With her Theremin, Pamelia Stickney goes from ethereal mermaid to jazz bassist, while Janka on guitars combines trash punk and math rock and Holub on the drums and overflows with groovy rock energy. A Swiss premiere!

00:00 Cabaret Contemporain (FR) - acoustic Kraftwerk set

At the crossroads of avant-garde and contemporary music, the five French musicians from Cabaret Contemporain perform their own essentially acoustic take on Kraftwerk’s electronic techno-pop. It is quite a challenge – and a successful one – to take on the music of robots to reveal the humanity inside the machine.

Fabrizio Rat (synthétiseur ms20), Giani Caserotto (Guitare Electrique), Ronan Courty (Contrebasse), Simon Drappier (Contrebasse), Julien Loutelier (Batterie)

Aftershow Algorave by A.V. Torres (CH) & APNOA (AUT) - live coding DJing

During his Japanese tour, mexican electronic artist Andrés V. Torres met two guys from Salzburg, APNOA. Together, they will bring the crowds to their feet during their ‘Algorave’ – a term coined in 2011 by Alex Mc Lean and Nick Collins to talk about events in which music is generated by algorithms and programmed live (live coding).

www.andresvillatorres.com

Visuals by Luis Sanz (CH)

Bern-based artist Luis Sanz creates generative art. Influenced by geometry, surrealism, abstraction, nature, architecture, futurism and science, he offers extraordinary algorithmic visuals during concerts.

www.luissanz.ch

CONCERTS

Présentation salle par salle des différents concerts.

Voir les adresses des salles partenaires.

Dim. 24.01.16 - CITY CLUB - Ciné-concert "Maths et Musique" 


Portes : 16h30 / film : 17h / concert : 19h

Prix : 25.- / 20.-

Le Cinéma CityClub accueille le N/O/D/E en présentant un ciné-concert qui invite à découvrir la beauté des mathématiques avec un documentaire suivi d’un concert du pianiste Malcolm Braff, en duo avec le batteur Stéphane Galland.

17h documentaire : "Comment j'ai détesté les maths" de Olivier Peyon

On aurait pu se contenter de rire de notre aversion pour les maths, si elles n’avaient pas pris une telle place dans notre société : Apple, Google, Goldman Sachs ne sont plus qu’algorithmes et formules mathématiques. Comment les maths en sont-elles arrivées à souffrir d’une telle désaffection au moment même où elles dirigent le monde ?
A travers un voyage aux quatre coins du monde avec les plus grands mathématiciens dont Cédric Villani (Médaille Fields 2010), Comment j’ai détesté les maths nous raconte comment les mathématiques ont bouleversé notre monde, pour le meilleur… et parfois pour le pire.

19h concert : Malcom Braff & Stéphane Galland (CH)

Au début des années 90 le batteur Stéphane Galland fondait en Belgique le groupe Aka Moon. Avec cette formation énergique il explorait des rythmiques complexes près de vingt ans avant que la chose ne devienne à la mode chez les musiciens de jazz. Il est devenu l'un des maîtres incontestés du genre. Pendant ce temps Malcolm Braff explorait les rythmes africains, puis indiens, avant de se mettre à développer un concept rythmique très personnel qu'il a nommé les rythmes non-euclidiens.

Leur rencontre a été explosive: tout d'abord au sein de la formation Lobi dirigée par Stéphane, puis maintenant avec ce duo, les deux musiciens inventent une nouvelle polyrythmie encore inouïe. En mélangeant leurs instruments respectifs à l'aide de l'électronique notamment, ils dessinent des paysages aux reliefs étonnants, qu'ils arpentent en acrobates avec une aisance vertigineuse.

Me-je-ve 27-28-29.01.16 - THEATRE 2.21 - Odéta TV 


Prix : 25.- / 15.-

21h / durée : 75'​

Compositeur, pianiste et enseignant, Pierre Audétat cultive un art à la fois incantatoire et mélodique, qui se nourrit d'intervalles harmoniques aussi recherchés qu'inattendus.

Pour Odéta TV, il a minutieusement sélectionné puis « emprunté » sur YouTube de courts échantillons audiovisuels issus de toutes sortes de sources et notamment de la vidéo amateur, qui sont d'abord découpés, séparés puis transformés pour être finalement remontés et joués en live, à l’aide de ses claviers et sampler. Le résultat se présente alors sous la forme de montages audio-vidéo parfois loufoques où les différentes sonorités et images s'entrechoquent au gré du jeu.

Samedi 30.01.16 - EJMA


Portes : 19h - 21h​

Prix : entrée libre

19h  compositions pour theremin de la classe Master de la HEMU (40')

Théréministes : Lydia Kavina (UK) et Thierry Frenkel (FR)

Quatre étudiants de la HEMU, quatre nouvelles oeuvres composées pour le theremin:

  • Sirenenelegie par Lukas Briner. Composition pour 2 theremins, alto et violon.
  • Cavernes par Romain Luder. Composition pour 2 theremins et clarinette basse.
  • Peacefull Turbulences par Micaël Vuataz. Composition pour 2 theremins, guitare et saxophone.
  • Sirens par Gaspard Colin. Composition pour 2 theremins et violoncelle.

20h Theremin Orchestra (15')

A l’issue des cours prodigués durant trois jours, l’Académie d’hiver de theremin propose une performance collective par un ensemble de theremin, interprétée par les participants à l’académie et conduit par Lydia Kavina.

Samedi 30.01.16 - LE ROMANDIE - Play like a Machine !


​Portes : 21h - 04h  

Prix :​ 25.- (sur place) / 27.- (prélocation)

22h Domi Chansorn (CH) - drums & machines solo

Domi Chansorn est l’un des musiciens polyvalents les plus intéressants de la scène suisse actuelle, basé à Zürich, batteur d’exception, il est également multi-instrumentiste et passionné de nouveaux médias. Il vient ici présenter son nouveau projet solo, batterie & machines

www.domichansorn.com

23h Blueblut (AUT) - psycho theremin band 

Un trio atypique et délirant guitare – theremin – batterie, qui produit une musique avant gardiste rock et psychédélique. Comme des caméléons, les trois musiciens offrent une myriade de couleurs musicales. Avec son theremin, Pamelia Stickney prend tantôt le rôle d’une sirène éthérée ou de bassiste jazz, Janka à la guitare oscille entre trash punk et math rock, et à la batterie, Holub bouillonne d’énergie groovy et rock. Première date Suisse !

www.blueblut.net

00H30 Cabaret Contemporain (FR) - crazy electronic set

Au croisement des musiques dites « savantes » et « actuelles », les cinq Français du Cabaret Contemporain revisitent la musique électronique et s'inspirent de la techno-pop électronique de Kraftwerk. Un sacré défi - qu’on trouve réussi - de révéler l’humanité sous la machine.

Nota Bene: malheureusement, le groupe de se pourra pas se produire avec son set Kraftwerk​ initialement annoncé, ce qui n'enlève rien à la qualité du concert proposé! Fan monomaniaque des robots, be aware, we're sorry.

Fabrizio Rat (synthétiseur ms20), Giani Caserotto (Guitare Electrique), Ronan Courty (Contrebasse), Simon Drappier (Contrebasse), Julien Loutelier (Batterie)

Aftershow Algorave par A.V. Torres (CH) & APNOA (AUT) – live coding Djing

Lors d’une tournée au Japon, le mexicain Andrés V. Torres rencontre deux gars de Salzburg, APNOA. Ensemble, ils feront danser les foules lors d’« Algorave », un terme utilisée pour la première fois en 2011 par Alex Mc Lean et Nick Collins pour parler de soirées où la musique est générée par des algorithmes et programmée en live (live coding).

Visuels de la soirée par Luis Sanz (CH)

Le Bernois Luis Sanz produit de l’art génératif. Influencé par la géométrie, le surréalisme, l'abstraction, la nature, l'architecture, le futurisme et la science, il proposera d’extraordinaires visuels algorithmiques pendant la soirée.

www.luissanz.ch